Scale AI data partnerships: what UK companies should know

What Scale AI's data partnerships take, its preference for 40+ staff, the $10k to $1m+ illustrative range, and what a UK company should check.

Checked 19 October 2026 · Independent profile · TydeX is not affiliated with Scale AI

At a glance

Type
Data lab
What it takes
Records from data warehouses such as BigQuery, Snowflake and Databricks, Chat, email, calendars and documents, Tickets, CRM, HR and ERP records
Who it accepts
Statuses not stated · 40+ employees preferred, assessed case by case · Not stated · The programme page does not say which countries it works with
Published range
$10k to $1m+. $10k to $1m+, illustrative per partnership, scaling with cadence
How it pays
recurring. Partnerships are designed with the opportunity for recurring revenue. No payment timing is published
Who de-identifies
Buyer
Exclusivity
Not stated
Programme page ↗

Key points

  • Scale AI builds ongoing data partnerships from everyday business systems, starting with a single workflow if you want.
  • It says it anonymises everything inside your environment, before any data is extracted, and you approve each package.
  • It prefers companies with 40 or more employees, and assesses each partnership case by case.
  • Its illustrative value is $10,000 to $1m+ per partnership, with the opportunity for recurring revenue.

About Scale AI

Scale AI is a San Francisco company founded in 2016 by Alexandr Wang and Lucy Guo. In June 2025, Meta took a 49% non-voting stake in it for more than $14bn (Wikipedia). In July 2026, Scale named the former Google Cloud executive Francis deSouza as chief executive, effective 10 August (Reuters, via The Star).

What Scale AI takes

Scale says it draws signal from "only structured, de-identified records" in everyday systems, not the systems themselves. Its programme page names data warehouses (BigQuery, Snowflake, Databricks), chat, email and calendars, documents, Jira, Confluence, Asana, Notion, Linear, Salesforce, HubSpot, Workday, ServiceNow, SAP and Zendesk.

Partnerships are continuous rather than one-off. You can start with one workflow and "a very limited scope", and expand from there.

Who it accepts

Scale says "40+ employees is our preferred starting point", and that it assesses each partnership "on a case-by-case basis". It does not publish country rules or a minimum number of years.

Compare more than one buyer

We put UK companies in front of several buyers at once and bring you written offers. Free, and you only pay if a deal completes.

Prices and payment

Scale gives $10,000 to $1m+ as an "illustrative value per data partnership, scaling with cadence". It designs partnerships with the "opportunity for recurring revenue", which is a possibility rather than a promise. It does not publish when payments are made.

How it handles your data

  • Anonymisation in place. "Scale anonymizes everything inside your environment, before any data is extracted."
  • Approval gates. You approve each package before delivery, with a full audit trail and encryption. Scale also offers on-premises and private cloud options.
  • Certifications. Its security page claims a SOC 2 Type 2 report and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification.

The programme page does not set out deletion terms or exclusivity.

What a UK company should check

  1. Size. If you have fewer than 40 staff, ask whether your records are specialist enough for Scale to make an exception.
  2. Recurring terms. How often you would supply data, what each delivery pays, and how either side can stop.
  3. Payment timing. When each payment is made. This is not published.
  4. Deletion and exclusivity. Get both in writing before the first package.
  5. Transfers. How any personal data that remains would leave the UK.
  6. Governing law. Which country's law the agreement uses.

How Scale AI compares

Scale's model suits a trading company that wants a steady, ongoing arrangement rather than a single sale of its archive. Anonymising inside your own systems, before anything is extracted, is a strong safeguard. If you want money upfront instead, compare buyers such as Labelbox Prism and Replay, which publish an upfront payment plus a revenue share, in our buyer directory.

Questions

How big does a company need to be for Scale AI?

Scale AI says 40 or more employees is its preferred starting point, and that it assesses each partnership case by case.

How much does Scale AI pay?

It gives an illustrative value of $10,000 to $1m+ per data partnership, scaling with how often data is supplied. This is not a guaranteed price.

Does my data leave my systems before it is anonymised?

Scale AI says it anonymises everything inside your environment before any data is extracted, and that you approve each package before delivery.

Sources

  1. Scale AI: data partnership
  2. Scale AI: security
  3. Scale AI (Wikipedia)
  4. Scale AI taps former Google Cloud executive as CEO (Reuters, via The Star, 31 July 2026)

Our research is general information, not legal, tax or financial advice.

Similar buyers

Software and IT